DUI Child Endangerment - Myrtle Beach, SC - The Lovely Law Firm
Text Us! (843) 755-4218

Myrtle Beach DUI Child Endangerment

Myrtle Beach DUI Child Endangerment

DUI Child Endangerment charges will occur if a minor is in your vehicle at the time of arrest.  South Carolina Code Section 56-5-2947 codifies and explains the charge of
“Child Endangerment”

• Applies to any driver 18 years of age or over who is charged with a violation of either DUI or DUAC (Driving with an Unlawful Alcohol Concentration) and

• the passenger or passengers are 15 years old or younger. If the driver is convicted of DUI or DUAC, they can also be convicted of this charge.

This is a separate and distinct offense. It will be written and charged on a separate blue traffic ticket. The mandatory punishment, upon conviction, is

1.  A fine of up to one half of the superior charge and/or a term of up to one half of the maximum in jail for the superior charge (DUI or DUAC).

 2.  Additionally, the SC-DMV must suspend the person’s drivers license for 60 days. The convicted driver can not apply for a provisional license or enroll in the ADSAP program until the 60 days suspension period has been completed.

Call The Lovely Law Firm and its team of DUI defense lawyers to defend your DUI Child Endangerment and Myrtle Beach DUI charge.  843-839-4111

Free Case Evaluation

The Carolina Justice Report Podcast

Categories

Top 40 under 40 Top 100 trial lawyers National Trial Lawyers Top 100 Martindale AV Certificate Trial Lawyers Top 100

South Carolina Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers South Carolina Association for Justice 10 Best 2014